Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

how to delete Chess game

I can't seem to remove the Chess game I downloaded to my Macbook Pro. I've tried deleting it via Launchpad and by dragging the file from Finder to the trash. It won't move.

Posted on Jan 15, 2021 7:14 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 15, 2021 8:37 PM

Why do you want to know what I care about?

10 replies

Jan 16, 2021 12:16 PM in response to etresoft

Thanks for your reply.

There is no error message, it just won't be deleted. If I try from the dashboard, it wiggles but remains in place after I drag it to the trash -- no "x" in the corner.

Your last paragraph was the reason I reached out. I have never encountered this situation before and thought I had opened my computer up to nefarious evildoers, despite the fact that I got it from the App Store.

I'm a graphic designer but not savvy about the inner workings of computers. This is a screenshot of the About section:

Jan 16, 2021 8:59 AM in response to ebroihier

ebroihier wrote:

Why do you want to know what I care about?

Because that is an odd request. I thought you might have run out of disk space and were thinking (erroneously) that you could delete some apps to recover disk space. Or perhaps it was something else...

Which it was. So you cannot delete an app? Do you get some kind of error message? If so, what does it say?

For the record, there is one and only one way to delete an app on the Mac - ask the developer how to do it. Any other method could leave parts of the app installed, and possibly still running on your machine, forever.