Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPod Touch 6th Gen won't boot, won't charge, can't restore (4013)

A mate of mine has given me a pair of 6th gen iPod touches to fix because I'm a computer technician and as a result have some knowledge of apple devices and have the tools if a hardware issue is present. One of them will need a screen replacement but I digress.

Both of them are doing the same thing.

• When unplugged, no response at all to attempting to power them on (they've been out of use for a while so a fully dead battery might explain that).

• When plugged into a 5W+ power source they power on immediately and display the apple logo for about 5 seconds, then the display turns black and stays that way (my 7th gen stays on the logo for about 15 seconds and then displays the lock screen). It doesn't seem to be a power loss, as the backlight is still on, and if I hold the power button for 5 seconds the power off. They automatically power back on as soon as I've let go of the power button. No charge screen is displayed ever.

• When trying to connect to a computer (a high end Windows 10 gaming PC, as I don't have a Mac on hand, and neither does he) nothing happens unless plugged in via a powered USB hub that delivers at least 5W. My 7th gen connects and charges just fine off of a 0.5W USB 2.0 port, but these don't react even on a 4.5W USB 3.2 Gen 2 port. They only power on if 5W or more is delivered.