Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Newsroom Update

Apple Music today announced the release of its 100 Best Albums of all time, a list crafted by Apple Music’s experts alongside industry professionals. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Removing local music files and relying on cloud hosting

I have an Apple Music subscription and I am using it for managing my music collection, i.e. my mp3 and other music files, that I had before subscribing to Apple Music.

I'm in need of disk space and would like to remove the local music files for my collection, while still being able to retrieve them in the future. I already have a backup of them; what I want is to rely on the cloud where they are hosted -- if I'm right. I have two questions:

1. Is my collection fully in the cloud and will be retrieved when needed?
  2. How do I delete the files? Going to "iTunes Media" with Finder and delete the files? Or is this what "Remove download" is for in iTunes?

Thanks in advance,

MacBook, macOS 10.15

Posted on Mar 9, 2021 12:42 PM

Similar questions

7 replies

Mar 9, 2021 1:00 PM in response to fenglich

Fenglihsh,

On #1, no and no. I must warn you that many users misunderstand what is and isn't in the cloud, and end up having a dreadful experience one day. Here is some reading: What does iCloud back up? - Apple Support

The first thing to do is make one or more reliable backups, including an external hard drive.

Once you have done that, feel free to experiment with deletion procedures.

Mar 9, 2021 1:13 PM in response to ed2345

ed2345, thanks for your reply.