Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Randomize Filenames in a Folder

I would like to randomly sort all of the photos in a specific folder without duplicating them. The original post for this question is here: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/1135603 (2007)

Here is the script I used (I have never used AppleScript before). It was successful in randomly sorting the images but it would make duplicates of some and others would not be included at all. What could I do to fix this problem?

tell application "Finder"

set destFolder to (make new folder at desktop with properties {name:"RandomSort"})

set sourceFolder to (choose folder with prompt "Please select the source images folder")

set numFiles to (number of files of folder sourceFolder)

repeat with i from 1 to numFiles

set newFile to (duplicate some file of folder sourceFolder to destFolder)

set name of newFile to (i & ".JPEG" as text)

end repeat

end tell

It all ran well other than duplicating some images and not including others.

MacBook Air 13″, 11.2

Posted on Apr 7, 2021 6:58 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 7, 2021 11:51 PM

This worked!

To clarify, this made copies and did not sort the actual folder, but it worked just fine for my project!

Here's the final script:

set destFolder to (make new folder at desktop with properties {name:"RandomSort1"})

set sourceFolder to (choose folder with prompt "Please select the source images folder")

duplicate every file of folder sourceFolder to destFolder

set theFiles to the result

set theIndex to 1

repeat

set theNumber to random number from 1 to (count theFiles)

set name of item theNumber of theFiles to (theIndex & ".JPEG" as text)

set theIndex to theIndex + 1

set item theNumber of theFiles to item -1 of theFiles

try

set theFiles to items 1 thru -2 of theFiles

on error

exit repeat

end try

end repeat

end tell

Thanks so much!

Similar questions

6 replies