Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Transferring music to external drive.

I downloaded all my cd's to music app on Mac air. Then I transferred them to a thumb drive and external drive. Why did they transfer as individual songs? When I pull up detail on them it does not list album or artist. I want to be able to have them in album form so I can play them on my tv or car. Also if I ever get a new computer I would need to download them. And before anyone suggest, no I do not and will not use the iCloud. Sorry not a fan. I need help. I tried m3unify, but could not get any to drag and drop. Tried changing several settings nothing works. Tried looking up my music under finder couldn't locate. I am not a computer expert, I learn a lot off of YouTube and this community. But I need help thank you too much.

Posted on Apr 8, 2021 12:47 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 12, 2021 3:09 AM

Music is stored as individual. It is up to software such as iTunes, Music, or that in a TV or car to read the metadata (data about data) such as album, artist, track number, etc. and construct albums from songs with common properties. Some software might instead rely on folder structure, using the typical layout of artist folders containing album folders to allow you to navigate to a particular song. You said:

When I pull up detail on them it does not list album or artist.

Which is why I asked what format the songs are in. Tracks in .wav format don't have embedded metadata. Other audio formats usually do, although there are circumstances in which it can be missing. Are you seeing this issue in Finder, or in your Car or TV?