Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MacOS not using discrete GPU no matter why I do...

I have a 16' MacBook Pro with an AMD Radeon Pro 5500M. I am a Game Developer and using Unity to develop games. As I said in the title, my Mac is not using the discrete GPU which is resulting a very low fps in Play Mode in Unity. I also tried playing games (Sonic Racing) on my Mac and it still uses integrated GPU.

• I switched off Automatic Graphics Switching for both Battery and Power Adapter.
  • I tried using gSwitch to force my Mac to use discrete GPU.
  • I tried using command line tools to force my Mac to use discrete GPU.
  • I forced Unity to use discrete GPU through Unity Preferences.
  • I tried using several Unity Editor versions (2019.4.28f1 (LTS), 2020.3.6f1(LTS), 2021.3.12f1(LTS))

None of these helped me. If you have any questions please feel free to ask.

Posted on Jun 29, 2021 2:46 PM

Similar questions

6 replies

Jul 5, 2021 5:35 PM in response to Grant Bennet-Alder

Hi, sorry for very late response and my English in advance.

Unfortunately I couldn't test it in safe mode due to unbelievably low performance of my Mac in general in safe mode. It wasn't related to Unity, I couldn't lunch any application regardless. My mac was on 3 to 5 refresh rate at most (I don't know why).

But I figured something that I think I should share with you. On Unity version 2019.x.x, I can manually disable Metal framework on Unity Editor and switch to OpenGL Core. With this change, Unity started to use my discrete GPU and I was able to get 5k fps in an empty project instead of 50 to 60 fps with my integrated GPU.