Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Importing iPhone images into Lightroom Classic on PC

Hi, I'm an iPhone user who uses PC rather than Mac for my computing. I'm running Windows 10 64 bit Pro and Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic 10.4 (i.e. current one).

Oh and I'm a photographer so I have "work" photos and "iPhone images".

My iPhone imabes are set to replicate via iCloud so I end up with a folder \Pictures\iCloud Photos\Photos

Everything there works fine.

I now have a LOT of photos on my phone and I'd like to take a bunch off and just leave what I care for.

Many of my images have been edited with Snapseed on the phone so I have for example IMG_1234.HEIC and IMG_1234.JPG - I wish to keep both.

I've noticed that if I try to delete an image in that folder and it has not downloaded (i.e. I just see a thumbnail) that works. If I try to delete once I have clicked and seen it big (i.e. it has downloaded) then I get an unexpected error from stopping me deleting it. I have to delete on the phone.

What I'd really *love* to do (and I'm hoping someone will tell me it is possible and easy) is just to run an import on that folder, it throw the files into a folder for the year (so I end up with iPhone images from 2019, 2020 and 2021 separated on my PC), and then magically removes them from iCloud once they are safely downloaded to my PC.

Essentially I want to take the majority of my images off my iPhone, store them on my PC and incorporate them into my PC backup routines.

After that I'll probably put some of the ones I want to have on my phone (pictures of my family for example) back on the phone so that I have them handy, and can start filling up with "new" iPhone pictures.

Does anyone do similar and can advise at all before I simply go for it and experiment/get it wrong?

Windows, Windows 10

Posted on Sep 9, 2021 2:17 AM

Similar questions

3 replies