Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iMac with 2 hard drives

I recently bought a second hand iMac for my Mrs that came with 2 hard drives installed.

1. Macintosh HD = 251GB flash storage

2. FireCuda 1TB SSHD

I’ve never used a Mac with 2 drives before.

I want to be able to store all files (photos, music, doc etc) on the 1TB, and run the OS from the flash drive.

I want to use Time Machine to back up the 1TB onto a WD Passport drive.

At the moment, the 1TB drive has one folder for “My Music”. 

This was already configured when I received the Mac.

Can anyone please advise on how to set things up so that photos, music, docs etc are confined to the 1TB drive?

The Mac is mid 2010 running High Sierra.

Thanks

Dave

iMac Line (2012 and Later)

Posted on Sep 19, 2021 7:09 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 19, 2021 8:13 AM

Hello, lilleshall.

This new (to you) iMac is going to be a little bit of a challenge to properly setup and use as far as file management goes.

Your wife's user account will remain on the startup drive "Macintosh HD". But you want her music, photos and documents to live on FC (FireCuda). Okay. You'll have to tell iPhotos and iTunes apps to locate their libraries on FC. Easy enough, but a little bit of a process.

You'll also have to create a folder on FC for her docs etc and she'll have to remember to use that when she creates and saves stuff.

IMHO, it would be easiest to clone the current startup drive to the FireCuda and use that as the main drive. I think the Macintosh HD boot drive, being flash storage, is faster than the FC, but the data management will be much easier if the OS and user files are on the same drive.

Optionally, since the iTunes and iPhoto libraries are often the biggest consumers of storage space, just locate those on FC and leave the OS and the rest of her files on Macintosh HD.

Similar questions

11 replies
Question marked as Best reply