Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How would I know if my MacBook is infected with virus?

I am new with mac OS and Macbook Air 2020 is my first apple device so pardon me if i'm not quite familiar with my laptop. Anyways my problem is when I open my safari there is an ad that pops up and it redirects automatically to a website. And earlier as I boot my laptop there is a message that popped out on my desktop which says "I have been logged in..." something like that. It looks like a message came from terminal and then it automatically closes. What should I do?

MacBook Air (2020 or later)

Posted on Sep 27, 2021 8:13 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 27, 2021 8:25 AM

That is a scam. It's an ad connected to the website. You can find more information about such things here:

Effective defenses against malware and ot… - Apple Community

Especially this section:

• Beware spontaneously appearing, unsolicited popups demanding immediate action. Think before you click.
    • Popup windows are useful and required for some websites, but unsolicited popups are commonly used to deceive people into installing unwanted software they would never intentionally install.
    • Ad-blocking Safari Extensions can help, but none are completely effective, and all of them can cause unexpected behavior.
    • If you encounter a website, text message, email, or phone call alleging your Mac is infested with some ick or that you need to take immediate action lest dire circumstances ensue, it is 100% fraudulent. Ignore it. Read Avoid phishing emails, fake 'virus' alerts, phony support calls, and other scams.
    • If you find Safari has frozen or "locked up", leaving you unable to dismiss the page, read Phony "tech support" / "ransomware" popups and web pages for the solution.