Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Panic Restarts Random

Hi,

I've been having completely random restarts on a MacBook Pro 16 running Big Sur 11.6. 2.3 GHz 8Core i9 with 16 GB Ram.

I've been into the Apple Store here in Toronto once and no issues were found. I have another appointment today and am concerned that they will again not be able to find the problem.....just in time for my support to run out in November!!!

Since it doesn't seem to have a cause (completely random), what recourse do I have? I make my living with this machine and these random crashes are no longer acceptable or workable in my work environment.

I've encoded the error text.

Posted on Oct 21, 2021 8:03 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 21, 2021 10:50 AM

Kernel Panic Reports are stored at:

/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports

If you copy and paste that string into:

Finder > Go menu > Go to Folder

it will take you to where those reports are stored.

They are named with Date&Time and start or end in ‘panic’

If you find one, please post the entire report here, by using the “additional text” Icon in the reply footer (looks like a paper with writing).

Please don’t post more about 20 lines of any other types of reports — they are interminable, and any information useful for this purpose is on the first screenful.

--------

There are three quick take-aways from any panic report.

1) The panic-reason,

2) the extensions present at the "scene of the crime", and

3) the BSD process in which the problem occurred.

One more item that is important is the names of any third-party Extensions you have added. They are shown FIRST in the extensions loaded section

————

Take look at your other reports. What you are trying to determine is whether there is a TREND.