Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Disappearing iPad note markups

I am a law student and bought my iPad to read/take notes on PDFs using my Apple Pencil. Occasionally, all of the markups I’ve done on a PDF will disappear. Hours of notes will seemingly vanish out of nowhere with no way of recovery. It’s super frustrating and honestly shocking how such a bug (as well as a few other minor issues) could exist on my brand new iPad Pro.

I would greatly appreciate support to resolve this issue. I say respectfully that this $1000+ tablet I bought 2 months ago is unreliable at the fairly basic task I bought it for.

I saw this topic brought up in old forum, but I was unable to find any solutions. My iPad is on ios15.

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

iPad Pro, iPadOS 15

Posted on Oct 27, 2021 5:05 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 29, 2021 8:49 PM

Same here!!!

Please fix this problem...

For somehow reason, I am using apple pencil to write notes on PDF, and suddenly it scrolled up automatically and all the notes just gone...it's really annoying and hours of work just disappeared.

Similar questions

159 replies

Nov 13, 2021 8:59 AM in response to DanielleM182

Dear Apple Support,

Please read this student’s post carefully. This is not an issue of lost notes. Yes, the word notes was used, but that is because the student is adding notes (meaning their thoughts, NOT the confusing name for your app that happens to be called Notes).

I have the same problem. I open a pdf in the Files App, and add a lot of markup (my thoughts) which are gone, poof, the next time I access the file. There are no incremental backups or versions saved anywhere? Really? In 2021? iPads in this regard are utterly unreliable tools for crucial work.

Lastly, I see that the moderator changed the title of the original post - I assume to make it appear to be about the Notes app, which the original post is not.