Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPad home button getting hot when locked

Hi - I have been using my iPad (5th Gen) for the last 4 years and it has the latest OS (v15.1). Couple of days suddenly when I unlocked the iPad it displayed a message "Unable to activate touch id for this iPad". Since then the home button is getting unusually hot when the iPad is in a locked state (even when it is not charging). The temperature goes back to normal when I start using it. Touch id is not working and I am not able to register any new fingerprint as well (shows a message it is unable register any new print). I have tried factory reset but it did not help. Does anyone have any idea what maybe going wrong here? Thanks - Pbasuray

iPad, iPadOS 15

Posted on Dec 14, 2021 3:41 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 14, 2021 5:49 AM

If the problem remains unresolved, you need to seek assistance directly from from Apple Support. You can contact the Support Team using the Get Support link at top-right of this page. Alternatively, you can initiate and manage your support cases using the excellent Apple Support App. If not already installed on your iPad, the App can be downloaded from the App Store:

https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/apple-support/id1130498044

You might also visit the Genius Bar at your local Apple Store or Apple Authorised Service Provider (AASP) - where the technicians will be able to test and assess your iPad:

Genius Bar Reservation and Apple Support Options - Apple

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 14, 2021 5:49 AM in response to Pbasuray