Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

ITunes Editing and Transfer to Thumb Drive

I'm a musician with songs that I've digitized from old analog cassettes. I want to share them with my kids. My plan was to burn CDs straight from an ITunes playlist but the kids say I'm a dinosaur & they don't have any way to play CDs... they recommended downloading to a thumb drive/flash drive. I've loaded them onto ITunes and they sound fine BUT... 1) One of the songs is much lower (volume) than the others. I raised the volume on that tune (in Itunes) but I'm afraid I really didn't alter the file & after transferring to an external drive it will revert back to the low volume. Is there anything I can do in ITunes to fix this? And... 2) Any suggestions re: type of external drive (flash, thumb, etc.??) to use? I see so many for sale for USB 2.0 or 3.0 (I do not know what version usb they have) at all different GB space and price points.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!!

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 10.13

Posted on Dec 22, 2021 11:06 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 22, 2021 12:42 PM

I don't what you used to copy the files from cassette, but in Audacity there is a normalize function so you can use all of the available volume range. When you save that to a compressed format such as .mp3 or .m4a (AAC) the volume will be baked into the file. USB 3.0 is faster than USB 2.0 but unless you're moving really large quantities of data you probably don't need to worry too much. You need drives big enough for what you want to put on it, with perhaps some room for later if you're going to do this again.

tt2

Similar questions

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 22, 2021 12:42 PM in response to L4popi