Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Newsroom Update

Apple Music today announced the release of its 100 Best Albums of all time, a list crafted by Apple Music’s experts alongside industry professionals. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Music library uneditable (Monterey 12.1)

Since the software update to Monterey 12.1, Music is unable to remember/save changes I make to songs (e.g., ratings, genres, etc.), as edits revert automatically after a couple of minutes. Even when I delete songs from my library, they just reappear a couple of minutes later. This bug has now made my entire library, which I've been curating for 15 years, uneditable. A very sad day for Apple users. #bringbackthejoyofmusic

MacBook Pro 15″, macOS 12.1

Posted on Dec 26, 2021 11:45 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 31, 2021 6:24 AM

I have this issue as well, and it seems to be tied into a mechanic in which the cloud library supersedes anything done locally. From discussions (unofficial) I have had, it seems that the general belief from the AM developers is that a) most users are on an iDevice and b) most users are using Apple Music files and not their own. So it seems to me that Apple deprecated the ability of the desktop jukebox to manage and curate one’s own catalog.

I can’t stay this is exactly the case (and I am kind of hoping that Cunningham’s Law will kick in at this point) but I have spent the better part of this last year fighting with Apple Music’s curation (or lack thereof) of my extensive collection. I’ve even resigned to re-rip my entire CD collection - except I can’t even delete what I have! I have spent the last three days now re-deleting albums over and over again.