Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can't mount encrypted disk images after Monterey upgrade

I have some encrypted disk images I've been using since 2007 to store health, financial records, etc.. and I can't open them since I moved to macOS 12. I waited until 12.1 avoid some of these bugs.

I just get a message "The disk image couldn't be opened - The disk image is corrupted" when I click on the .dmg file. I have backups in time machine and backblaze, I can't open the backups either.

I did notice that I can "hdiutil attach <path to dmg>" in Terminal - and it prompts me for the password, mounts the DMG and then I can access everything normally via Finder. So I don't believe the disk images are corrupt. This same issue is happening to several encrypted disk images I have.

Any ideas what the problem is? This is only similar post I found: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/253490294

Mac mini, macOS 12.1

Posted on Jan 4, 2022 1:49 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 30, 2022 12:37 PM

I have a similar, but not idential, issue to to David Carlin's. I have an encrypted DMG that I've used for many years. It contains sensitive financial information. It worked fine on my old Mac, but I recently purchased a MacBook Air running OS X Monterey 12.1, and when I click on the DMG to open it, it asks me for my password as usual. I enter the password—it is the correct one—and nothing happens. No error, no nothing. It does not mount. I was wondering if there was somehow a password issue, so I typed in an intentionally incorrect password, and the password window reappeared, signaling that the previous password was incorrect.

The file is stored locally, and to be sure, I moved it to my Desktop and tried mounting it, but no dice. It does not appear in Disk Utility under any circumstances.

This is quite vexing. I hope Apple releases an update in the future for this bug.

Similar questions

6 replies