Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

AppleScript Syntax Error automating Contacts: "Internal table overflow"

I've got simple script

tell application "Contacts"
	save
end tell

Which gives an error

"Syntax Error - Internal table overflow."

The error happens not when the script runs but before, when Script Editor interprets / auto formats the code (i.e. when clicking the button "Compile the Script")

I've been running this code for a few years without incident.

All other AppleScript / Contacts code continue to work just fine.

Did the syntax for the "save" command change?

Specs

Hardware: MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2019)

Mac OS: Monterey version 12.1 (21C52)

Contacts: version 2498.2.1

Script Editor: version 2.11 (227)

Posted on Jan 6, 2022 7:50 AM

Similar questions

10 replies

Feb 10, 2022 9:00 PM in response to ljr_nbg

I actually found problems after as well. Use of the command `delete people` no longer seems to work as before.

I ended up just coding the UI:

• Open Contacts
  • Command A (select all items)
  • Delete
  • Use Command Line to import and replace all entries

Never elegant hacking the keystrokes to get the job done, but it's working.

What is your code trying to achieve?

Jan 10, 2022 8:44 AM in response to Cmq-Amq

I am having the same problem.

Script ran without problems for years on 10.14.6.

After upgrading the server to Mac mini M1 12.1 I am getting the same error ("internal table overflow").

Commenting out all the "save" commands will let the code compile and execute without error, but also without saving any changes....

Copying the script from the 10.14.6 server without opening it on 12.1 and running it via "osascript" kind of works, but there is a problem with saving phone numbers that was not there before. So I need to open and debug the script on 12.1

Same specs as above exept hardware: Mac mini M1, 2020, 16GB

Feb 5, 2022 3:02 PM in response to scottmil