Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Two Apple Wifi Routers (Airport Extremes) on one modem

Howdy Team,

I am attempting to setup two Airport Extremes to one Modem.

My mom lives in four story town home in the Florida Keys and the modem is in the first floor. It is wired to my AirPort Extreme on the 3rd floor. There isn’t a way (without great pain) to wire the AirPort Extreme directly to any other AirPort express.

Typically, just daisy chaining airports express works fine, but I added a Ring Door Bell and it’s really lagging. If I could set up an independent or dependent AirPort directly to the modem, it would be a huge help.

I believe I should be able to setup my AP-E as a new router. Plug in an Ethernet cord to the LAN plug. Turn off the NAT on the second router, mimic the IP address and add a digit in the third group.

I’m an Noob with Networks, so I am beyond my experience. But, I feel provided proper guidance, I can accomplish this.

Thanks, team.

MacBook, macOS 10.13

Posted on Feb 23, 2022 4:43 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 24, 2022 10:30 AM

"Join" a network is a setting that would only be used if the AirPort was connecting to the network using a wireless connection......while the AirPort must connect to the modem using a wired connection......so you have unfortunately traveled way too far down the wrong road to find any shortcuts over to the correct road. Got to backtrack to the fork in the main road and then start over again.

Power off the AirPort

Disconnect the Ethernet cable from the AirPort

Wait a minute

Power up the AirPort and let it run for a minute

Hold in the reset button on the back of the AirPort for 7-8 seconds and release

Allow a minute for the AirPort to restart

Temporarily, connect an Ethernet cable from one of the LAN <--> ports on the AirPort Extreme to the "O" port on the AirPort that will eventually connect to the modem/router.