Newsroom Update

New features come to Apple services this fall. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Final Cut Pro - Slow Motion Library

Hello all,

Im a premiere pro user tired of crashes and subscriptions trying to move on and learn FCP.

In premiere pro I can slow down my footage in the browser to preview them already in slow motion before I select the section of it and import them to my timeline and I cant find anything like this in FCP.

Is there a way to slow down the footage reinterpret a 60 fps file to 24 fps?

I can slow down footage easily in a timeline, I looking for a solution to do this before the timeline.

Thank you all!

Posted on Feb 25, 2022 3:12 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 25, 2022 6:29 AM

You're the first person I've ever heard of in over two decades who wants to slow down footage in the Browser, so this is really interesting to me. What is the reason for this? I'm sincerely curious.

In FCP, no, you can't do it in the Browser directly. But you can open a clip into its own timeline and do it. Just be sure to undo it or it'll be like that in every place you use it after that.

Select a clip in the Browser.

Go to the Clip menu.

Choose "Open Clip".

Now you'll see the clip's contents (audio and video) in its own timeline. Anything you do here, you're doing to the master clip, so it will carry over into any timeline you place a copy in. So undo whatever you do here, especially retiming, it'll screw you up later.

Similar questions

11 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 25, 2022 6:29 AM in response to fernandofromcoimbra

You're the first person I've ever heard of in over two decades who wants to slow down footage in the Browser, so this is really interesting to me. What is the reason for this? I'm sincerely curious.