Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Photos/Pixelmator vs Lightroom/Photoshop

I am not a professional photographer but enjoying photography very enthusiastically for over 50 years now. (And yes I do remember film - mind not that far gone yet.) I recently retired and we moved to a community that has a photography club and there are several others nearby that I wish to get active in. All these clubs have meetings where photos are submitted and a local photographer is brought in as a judge. One also takes part in statewide (NJ Federation of Camera Clubs) and national (Photographic Society of America) competitions. (Whew - thanks for reading a little of my background.)

When I moved from Windows/Lightroom to a Mac I loved Aperture. Unfortunately Apple stopped supporting it and moved lots of people to Photos (which I happen to love and it has gotten much better at post processing over the years - especially with additional programs working as extensions) because of it's integration with all the Apple products. And my wife loves the way I can pretty easily share parts of my photo library with her and her iPhone/iPad - so I would not want to give all that up.