Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iMovie

I created an iMovie library on my iMac macOS Mojave version 10.14.6. Then created a different library on my portable drive while the drive is connected to the iMac not laptop and conpied the libradry so I can work on my MacBook Pro macOS Mojave version 10.14.6 (same version as iMac). And i have been working on on the same iMovie library all year either on my iMac or MacBook pro with no probelm at all.

I updated my iMac a several weeks ago to macOS Monterey, but not my MacBook Pro. I did not upgrade my MacBook Pro because I am a university professor and when I read online it was not recommended to upgrade while using "EndNote X9" version and I am in the middle of submitting manuscripts for publications so I do not want to loose my references or affect my work in any way. In addition, photoshop, illustrator and Adobe softwares has some issues with the macOS Monterey. So I decided not to upgrade my MacBook Pro for now.

Today, I conected my portable drive to the iMac so I can copy the library from my portable drive to the iMac because I have completed a project with over 100 videos in the library. I copied what I needed, but left the drive connected to allow enough time for the copy to occur while cheching the computer periodically. A few hours later the screen went black. So I read online that I need to restart the computer.

Two issues now:

1. The computer seems frozen and does not want to restart. The bar keeps stuck in the middle of the restart proceess. How can I fix this problem?
  2. When I connected the portable drive to my MacBook Pro to make sure my iMovie library is fine. I got this error:

"The document “iMovie_XXXXXX” could not be opened. One or more of the libraries were created with a newer version of iMovie. These libraries will be ignored".