Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Cannot access Desktop & Documents, iCloud Drive?

All Mac friends,

I'm new to Macbook. I bought a used Macbook (late 2013). It is running Catalina 10.15. I set up two users for this Macbook, namely, me and the 'System Administrator' (i.e. root). Und user 'me', there is no problem at alll, but if I log in as 'root', I got the following problems simultaneously:

1) Desktop is empty, I cannot create a new folder there and I cannot drop any documents or folder on desktop. When I tried to create a new folder, I got a message 'The operation can't be completed. An unexpected error occurred (error code: 8072).

2) If I open 'Finder', on the sidebar I cannot see 'Desktop' and 'Documents'. If I go to 'Finder'-->'Preferences'-->'Sidebar', the square blue boxes in frond of 'Desktop' and 'Documents'. have a '-' sign, after the box there is no icon or description. And it doesn't expand and cannot be checked or unchecked. Others like 'Recents', 'AirDrop' or 'Applications' all have a sqaure box in front of them and I can check or uncheck them.

3) Some Mac users said, the 'Desktop' and 'Documents' problem might be caused by the default setting on 'iCloud Drive', but if I go to 'System Preferences'--> 'Apple ID', the 'iCloud Drive' is greyed out, I cannot see the 'option' and I cannot open it.

As I said, all these problems occur only under 'System Administrator' user, none of them appeared under 'me' user. I searched on Internet for hours, there is no solutions to my case. Thanks in advance for all your help.

Posted on May 23, 2022 10:58 PM

Similar questions

5 replies

May 28, 2022 2:22 PM in response to HeilpraktikerinFrankfurt

Howdy,

By set up 'System Administrator' I assume that means you enabled the root user.

I was able to duplicate some of your issues yesterday, like unable to access the Desktop, error 8072 and the Sidebar oddities.