Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I am new to Final Cut Pro and I have made the mistake of copying my imported media to the library (dublicating it) now my library is too big 1.84GB so how do I delete the raw files that I have copied into the library without stuffing up my project

I am new to Final Cut Pro and I have made the mistake of copying my imported media to the library (duplicating it) now my library is too big 1.84GB so how do I delete the raw files that I have copied into the library without stuffing up my project

Posted on Jul 14, 2022 4:37 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 14, 2022 3:37 PM

Have you already consolidated to move the clips out of the library? That would be the safest first step. You can then use the relink function to relink files to the original media wherever it’s stored. Once it’s correctly relinked the way you want it, you can throw away the media that was moved out of the library.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 14, 2022 3:37 PM in response to Secret_Box

Have you already consolidated to move the clips out of the library? That would be the safest first step. You can then use the relink function to relink files to the original media wherever it’s stored. Once it’s correctly relinked the way you want it, you can throw away the media that was moved out of the library.

Jul 14, 2022 3:40 PM in response to Secret_Box

Yes, you should be able to relink your library to the folder on the external drive containing your original files. Do the consolidation first to move all the files out of your library into a new folder, then do the relink to the external drive. You should end up with a svelte library pointing to your external drive for footage.

Relink clips to media files in Final Cut Pro - Apple Support

Jul 14, 2022 5:17 AM in response to Secret_Box