Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhone pictures not updating on Photos App (El Captain 10.11.6)

Hi there,

I would be very grateful if someone could help me with the following issue:

Recently upgraded my old Macbook Air 2013 edition to OS X El Capitan version 10.11.6 and can no longer see my recent iPhone pictures in the Photos app.

Both my iPhone and my Macbook Air are up to date re operating systems versions.

I am not good at any of this and spent hours researching this topic and the main types of comments all involve iCloud. The thing is that my particular issue is not related to iCloud, I have it turned off regarding photos and have no interest for the moment in using this service.

Apart from the Photos app not showing any of the recent pictures, the app works fine and my computer does indeed recognise my iPhone etc. It's just the updating that is not working.

I would like to get things back to normal i.e. I take a picture on my phone, then I connect my phone to my laptop, the Photos app launches automatically and shows me all the pics including the recent picture. I then import the recent picture and can then save it in a folder in said laptop.

Please assist as have already tried the following without success: the repair function on the Photos app, check "sync all photos" in iTunes, turning things on and off again, updated my iPhone OS, downloading Anytrans (not supported on my OS), updating iPhoto (not supported by my OS) and perhaps one or two more things that did not work.

Thank you very much in advance!

MacBook Air 11″, OS X 10.11

Posted on Jul 21, 2022 9:37 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 26, 2022 9:29 AM

mbh87,

Thanks for replying! It sounds like you were able to resolve the issue ultimately, correct? If so, that's great to hear.