Change Apple Mail link default to plain link

By default when I paste a URL into an email it uses the 'preview' style link which contains the open graph info. I just want plain links by default, but can't see where to set that behavior and don't see any reference to this issue online?

MacBook Pro 14″, macOS 13.0

Posted on Nov 9, 2022 10:11 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 13, 2023 9:39 PM

In Sonoma there's a setting for this, which I turned off as soon as I saw it.

I understand the thought behind this behavior, but nevertheless I don't like it. Maybe I'm old, but it's extremely disturbing to not just see the url, and I guess that all of us in this thread feel the same way.

111 replies

Nov 10, 2022 1:52 PM in response to lzevon

Totally agree. I'm a website developer, and need those I communicate with to see URLs, not previews. It's extremely disruptive to be typing, then pasting in a URL, and then ... glitch ... then what the ... and then convert back to a plain link. This behavior should not be forced down our throats; we should be able to disable this "cool" functionality and go back to what was working before if we'd like.

Dec 14, 2023 8:07 AM in response to lzevon