Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple SD Card reader is not working.

After updating into IOS 16.1, Apple SD card reader is not showing neither in Photos nor in Files. But my iPhone which is 11 pro 256 GB is detecting the SD card reader in the About section of the settings. I am a photographer. This is very important for me to work. Please help !

iPhone 11 Pro, iOS 16

Posted on Nov 23, 2022 10:30 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 13, 2023 2:01 PM

I'm having the same problem, however, there still is not a "no name" option for me when I go to the browsing option. Has anyone else experienced this? I'm getting pretty frustrated.

50 replies

Jan 2, 2023 3:44 PM in response to arafatjawad

Hello, frustrated friend.  Because Apple's SD card reader doesn't have a how-to manual, even their technicians claim that their product is no longer compatible with the iOS 16 firmware.

After a frustrating week, I found out they all work fine.  First, since your iPhone doesn't recognize the card reader, don't bother looking for the words "Import" that appear in the bottom-right corner of your phone's screen.

Here is how it works: insert the SD card into the reader > plug the device card reader into the iPhone > click on the “FILES” app > click on iCloud Drive’s “Browse” > click on Browse’s “No Name”  > now you can view your files from your SD card on “No name”.

Sep 13, 2023 3:15 PM in response to DrummerJMS

After hours of frustration, I found a fix - at least for my iPhone 13 running iOS 16.6.1. I put the card in the reader and then plugged the reader into the phone. I opened the Photos app and then scrolled down to imported photos. At that point, the import option for the reader became available on the bottom right. I was then able to import photos from the card reader to the Photos app.

Jan 2, 2023 3:47 PM in response to TrisIxta