Newsroom Update

Apple is introducing a new Apple Watch Pride Edition Braided Solo Loop, matching watch face, and dynamic iOS and iPadOS wallpapers as a way to champion global movements to protect and advance equality for LGBTQ+ communities. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhone Turns off Overnight

Why did my iPhone power off overnight. I fell asleep with everything fine, but when I woke up, it was powered off and wouldn't charge. I then force reset the device, and after a couple attempts, it fortunately turned back on. I'm wondering though, how do I know this won't happen again? I'm going on a trip soon, and I'm new to the said country. My phone will be crucial to the trip, and I will not want to have to deal with this situation in foreign grounds

iPhone 13 Pro

Posted on Dec 5, 2022 6:09 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 7, 2022 8:40 AM

Hello MMYLMB21,

Welcome to Apple Support Communities. Which iOS version is currently installed on your iPhone? You can find this information under: Settings > General > About.

iOS 16.1.2 is the latest version, so if you have any pending update, please back up your device, and install them by following the steps here:

Update your iPhone or iPad - Apple Support

Keeping your device up-to-date on software is an important troubleshooting step as it maintains your iPhone running smoothly.

Next, let's check the Battery Health by navigating to: Settings > Battery > Battery Health.

Once a battery reaches 80%, we do recommend it be replaced. For more information, check this out:

Check the iPhone battery health and usage - Apple Support

Also, make sure your iPhone is operating in recommended operating temperatures as explained here:

If your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch gets too hot or too cold - Apple Support