Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MacBook Air Apple ID issues and more

Earlier this week, my MacBook Air (2015 model, refurbished, purchased on Teacher Prime day on Amazon) had an update downloaded and just needed a restart to install. I did this at work (I’m a substitute teacher) and partway through the process everything just stopped. Waited a while before restarting, and once it restarted, it refused to accept my regular login to get into the laptop itself. After several attempts to correct this issue (using all the tips on here), I gave up and erased the disk and reinstalled OS X Yosemite, which was the default system available. Now, I can’t get into any of the websites I usually use because they won’t load properly, and of course the most recent system software won’t work on this model, so I was trying to get the newest one I could to install, but the thing won’t accept my Apple ID’s password. I have changed it several times, even reset it to a different email address, but it will not accept the password no matter what. So now I can’t install Word (which is mostly what I use this for, and I can’t access any of my writing until I do so) because Yosemite isn’t compatible with it.

when I do try to login, I get notifications on my iPad and iPhone and I tell it to allow the login, but then I get the six digit code in the device but the MacBook Air doesn’t pop up a screen to enter the code…

Any ideas? This is driving me mad.

MacBook (2017)

Posted on Mar 23, 2023 8:14 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 24, 2023 2:13 PM

Hi waffyjon,

Thanks for contacting Apple Support Communities!

We understand that you had to reinstall macOS Yosemite and you're unable to sign into your apps or Apple ID since reinstalling macOS.