Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Moving Notes Folder Contents in Apple Notes to Archival Folder

Greets:

I've been using Apple Notes, since about 2015. I have a new folder structure that I'd like to use, but I also want to move the contents of the Notes folder elsewhere. I have over 4,000 items in the folder.

On macOS Monterey, I selected all the notes. When I tried dragging them, I got a beachball that stayed stuck for about 3-5 minutes, with Notes otherwise unusable and locked into the Finder, so could not do a Force Quit from the Apple Menu. Eventually, the beachball returned to a cursor. After trying again, it seems that I am unable to move the contents of Notes to another folder for archiving.

Is it at all possible to do this? I don't wish to lose the older notes, but I want to start the Notes folder fresh and have the old content at least in another folder instead of gone altogether. Also, does not look like I can do this in iOS either.

Thanks!

Posted on Mar 28, 2023 9:21 PM

Similar questions

3 replies

Apr 1, 2023 11:58 AM in response to Velanche Stewart

Hello Velanche Stewart,

Great question about moving your notes to a different folder on your Mac.

Follow the steps below for help with moving them.

"Rename or move a folder

In the Notes app  on your Mac, do any of the following:

• Rename a folder: Control-click the folder, then choose Rename Folder.
  • You can also move the pointer over the folder in the sidebar, click the More button , then choose Rename Folder.
  • Place a folder inside another folder (make a subfolder): Drag the folder on top of the other folder.
  • Move a subfolder out from inside the folder: Drag the subfolder to the location you want.

Note: Use caution when moving a subfolder into or out from a shared folder. Doing so may affect who can read and edit the notes within the folder. See Share notes and folders."