If you have already set-up the iPad with your own AppleID, your own personal and sensitive information (e.g., Saved Passwords, Calendar, Notes, Contacts, Messages, Reminders etc.) will likely have been synchronised with the iPad. In just signing out of your own AppleID - and signing-in with another - your sensitive data will be merged with that account that you subsequently sign into.
So as to prevent the data merge, you should properly prepare the iPad using the appropriate procedure. If you don’t use the correct procedure - and are willing to both accept and live with the consequences - you can follow the path of your own choice.