Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time.apple.com sync

I am a radio amateur and am using digital modes with my Macbook Pro 2020. The latest Os Ventura is installed.

The time is syncing but it is always behind if I check it against time.is. I have tried numerous different NTP servers without any luck. It is mostly 0.2 seconds behind on all NTP servers. It cannot be internet latency. I have fast wifi namely fiber. 50Mb up and down.

I need some help, please.

I am residing in South Africa.

Regards

Jacques ZS1WC

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 13.3

Posted on Mar 29, 2023 12:06 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 29, 2023 1:15 PM

Other Ham operators have complained that waking a Mac from sleep takes an unknown amount of time to sync the clock with NTP and you can be off by several seconds until the time is actually updated. It used to be trivial to kick the timed process into gear and force an update but not anymore. Due to security changes in macOS you can't force timed to sync.

There is an alternative cross-platform open source solution with much greater control: chrony.tuxfamily.org

However, that requires compiling the daemon and configuring by hand.

Fortunately, there is a GUI solution called ChronyControl specifically for macOS that will install the chrony daemon and let you control it far more easily.

https://www.whatroute.net/chronycontrol.html

Similar questions

13 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Mar 29, 2023 1:15 PM in response to JacquesZS1WC