Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

HomeKit Secure Video Not recording

Hi all,

just wondering if someone can help me. I can’t get HomeKit secure to work on my devices.

i get HomeKit notifications from my camera but no timeline or recording.

My camera supports HKSV and I have a 2 tb I cloud subscription.

thanks

HomePod (2nd generation)

Posted on Apr 21, 2023 5:16 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 18, 2024 1:30 PM

I recently encountered an issue with my LogiTech Circle View Doorbell camera, which is compatible with HomeKit Secure Video (HKSV). After some troubleshooting, I discovered that the underlying problem was related to the network configuration. I’d like to share my experience in case it helps others facing similar challenges.

Here’s what I found:

Network Architecture:

• I maintain multiple VLANs in my home network, including separate segments for IoT devices and cameras.
    • My setup includes an Apple TV (ATV) as the HomeKit hub, as my HomePod didn’t perform optimally in that role.

Camera and IoT VLANs:

• I connected my ATV to the IoT VLAN and the LogiTech camera to the Camera VLAN.
    • Both the IoT and Camera VLANs have WiFi networks that operate exclusively on the 2.4GHz band (important: avoid 5GHz).

iPhone Configuration:

• My iPhone is on a separate VLAN from both IoT and Camera.
    • I’ve set up one-way communication from iPhone VLAN to both IoT and Camera using firewall rules.
    • The camera VLAN is blocked from internet access, while IoT devices have internet access (primarily for updates).

Critical Consideration:

• HKSV requires two-way traffic between the camera and HomeKit hubs (ATV or HomePod). At least this is what I discovered from hours of working on this.