does getting crumbs inside your macbook pro hinge make parts of the screen glitch out?

I have had crumbs go inside the hinge of my 13" Macbook Pro 2020. A few months ago the screen started to glitch out and a few columns of pixels start to glitch. So basically I've had my screen lag out and lines of pixels that go vertically across the screen change into a single colour for example green. I've also had a random, I presume dead pixel in the middle of the screen. This problem is either occurring due to what I presume might be the crumbs in the hinge but I am no expert and desperately need an insight. Could their be a possibility that the screen is not genuine and has been refurbished?

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 13.4

Posted on Aug 17, 2023 4:57 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 17, 2023 5:03 PM

Moosq wrote:

I have had crumbs go inside the hinge of my 13" Macbook Pro 2020. A few months ago the screen started to glitch out and a few columns of pixels start to glitch. So basically I've had my screen lag out and lines of pixels that go vertically across the screen change into a single colour for example green. I've also had a random, I presume dead pixel in the middle of the screen. This problem is either occurring due to what I presume might be the crumbs in the hinge but I am no expert and desperately need an insight.C̶o̶u̶l̶d̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶i̶r̶ ̶b̶e̶ ̶a̶ ̶p̶o̶s̶s̶i̶b̶i̶l̶i̶t̶y̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶s̶c̶r̶e̶e̶n̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶n̶o̶t̶ ̶g̶e̶n̶u̶i̶n̶e̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶h̶a̶s̶ ̶b̶e̶e̶n̶ ̶r̶e̶f̶u̶r̶b̶i̶s̶h̶e̶d̶?̶

You have a hardware issue—crumbs or no crumbs.

Take it in...

In or out of warranty you can get a free over the counter 'Apple Service Diagnostics' test /assessment

Make an appointment for a "hardware issue"

Genius Bar Reservation and Apple Support Options - Apple

Outside the USA

Contact Apple for support and service - Apple Support

Check your coverage

My Support - Official Apple Support