Discrepancy between internal hard drive data being stored as reported by Sonoma and Catalina

In moving from an old 21.5” IMac with Catalina to a new 24” M3 IMac, the migration produced an odd result I cannot reconcile and it may take an in-store reset to factory specs to set straight.

The “old” Mac said it had 750G free on a 1T hard drive. The migration took place wirelessly, dumped tons of individual files onto the desk top, and after I sorted that out I checked the amount of data moved into the “new” machine. The “new” machine reported well under 100G used against a 1T solid state drive. Almost all folders on the desktop had ICloud download arrows. I’ve clicked them all to try downloads. The “new” drive reports it has about 890G free now.

While tech support assures me all my data transferred and the disparity is likely due to Sonoma and Catalina not being entirely on speaking terms with one another, the disparity really concerns me.

I’m not very tech savvy, but I am willing to try resetting the new machine, freshening the backup on to my 2T SanDisk solid state backup drive and doing the migration via the backup drive. I am making an appointment in the morning for someone at the store to sort this out because Apple support has not been able over the phone to resolve this entirely to my either liking or understanding.

has anyone else encountered the same issue?

iMac 24″, macOS 14.1

Posted on Nov 19, 2023 2:50 PM

Similar questions

4 replies

Nov 19, 2023 4:10 PM in response to eliot130

Hey there!

Almost all folders on the desktop had ICloud download arrows. I’ve clicked them all to try downloads.

It sounds like the old Mac used iCloud optimization, and that setting transferred to the new Mac. Therefore, rather than the files being transferred, the files are available to download from iCloud on your Mac.

You can disable this from System Settings > [Your Name] > iCloud, and toggle off Optimize Mac Storage.