Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

If I buy a Mac Mini M2, with 8GB RAM, can I get Apple to put in more RAM later?

I may want to upgrade RAM later. Is it possible?

Posted on Nov 22, 2023 8:43 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 23, 2023 5:04 AM

I know that everyone says 8 GB RAM is not enough but believe me it is . . . unless you are a high end professional editing 8K all day long with tight deadlines.

I have been using a 2017 iMac with 8 GB RAM for the past 7 years editing 1080p and 4K videos with no problems in Final Cut Pro and DaVinci Resolve.

A month ago I got the cheapest M2 Mac mini and it blows the iMac out of the water being at least 3 times faster.

Don't worry about the small 256 GB SSD either as you can buy high quality USB 3.0 SSDs of 1 TB for £50 - £80.

If you buy an M2 with a 1 TB SSD installed it will set you back a further £400.

12 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 23, 2023 5:04 AM in response to Kenvyn

I know that everyone says 8 GB RAM is not enough but believe me it is . . . unless you are a high end professional editing 8K all day long with tight deadlines.

I have been using a 2017 iMac with 8 GB RAM for the past 7 years editing 1080p and 4K videos with no problems in Final Cut Pro and DaVinci Resolve.

A month ago I got the cheapest M2 Mac mini and it blows the iMac out of the water being at least 3 times faster.

Don't worry about the small 256 GB SSD either as you can buy high quality USB 3.0 SSDs of 1 TB for £50 - £80.

If you buy an M2 with a 1 TB SSD installed it will set you back a further £400.

Jan 24, 2024 5:52 AM in response to Jamzhouse

The cheapest ones available from a "known" company.