Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

User password versus Admin password

Hi there,

I'm working in a small company, where I have 5 employees in a graphic design studio and print house.

We are using Mac computers and have done so since I established the company.

We have to improve our workplace with 3 other employees. Therefore we also have to make a new architecture of our user-policies. I must admit, that I'm a bit new to user policies, but hope some kind person can help me to answer my questions.

1): I know from time - back in school and Windows computers - Every user got their password for the login. It was possible to install apps if we needed, but we couldn't change any settings. It was only the administrators, who could do this with their user-info and passwords. Is it possible to do the same in the Mac environment?

Cause now everytime someone need to install an app. It requires the admin password or if a user need to change something in other apps or settings.

2): What can I use in the future for fx. user-settings, since Apple have made an end of the Server-software.

Cause what if an enterprise company have 100+ macs over a network. How to admin all these?

3:) If I have an older Mac Pro I want to use as file-server. Will it be possible to make connection to the shared folders outside the local-network, but thorugh the Internet?

I have the the router which can do it, but I need to know how to set up the Mac Pro to accept the access from the MacBooks outside the LAN, but through the internet. (I'm NOT looking for any desktop/monitor-support-solution).

I hope you will give me your best replies. Thank you.

Best regards,

Mac Pro (2019)

Posted on Apr 8, 2024 9:38 AM

Similar questions

1 reply