​​ ​

The Apple Support Community will permanently close on November 20, 2026. Starting today, the site will no longer accept new posts and is available in a read-only state.


You can continue to find trusted guidance and support on the official Apple Support site. 


We want to thank the community members who have contributed their time and expertise to help others with their Apple products.


Is Sharing Locations Automatically Shut Off After 5 Days?

I was blocked by someone last year with whom I was sharing my location indefinitely. After 5 days of being blocked I got the notification that I had stopped sharing my location. Fast forward to a year later. We had rekindled...but it didn't work out again and again I am now blocked while I was sharing my location indefinitely. Yet again, 5 days after the block I get the notification that I have stopped sharing my location.

Is the location sharing stopped automatically after 5 days?

Or is he going in and removing me from Find My coincidentally on the same timeframe?

Posted on Apr 16, 2024 5:18 AM

1 reply

Apr 16, 2024 5:22 AM in response to UnSure_

There is no limitation of 5 Days as such on location sharing.


Your friend is likely going into the Find My app and manually removing you from their shared location list around the same time they block you. There's no specific timeframe associated with this action, so it could be coincidental that it happens around 5 days for you.

This thread has been closed by the system or the community team. You may vote for any posts you find helpful, or search the Community for additional answers.

Is Sharing Locations Automatically Shut Off After 5 Days?

Welcome to Apple Support Community
A forum where Apple customers help each other with their products. Get started with your Apple Account.