​​ ​

The Apple Support Community will permanently close on November 20, 2026. Starting today, the site will no longer accept new posts and is available in a read-only state.


You can continue to find trusted guidance and support on the official Apple Support site. 


We want to thank the community members who have contributed their time and expertise to help others with their Apple products.


Can a deleted contact still track location if location sharing was not turned off before deleting?

We deleted a contact on my teen's phone (with their approval). They had location sharing turned on for this contact before the contact was deleted. Is the contact still able to track my teen's location? We did not turn it off before deleting the contact.

iPhone 14, iOS 18

Posted on Jan 31, 2025 12:09 PM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Jan 31, 2025 12:53 PM

Yes. This contact will still be able to track your teen’s location. Once you removed their contact, It will continue to share location and just show up as a phone number in the Find My app. If you want to stop sharing location with them, you’ll have to select them in Find My then select Stop Sharing Location.

Similar questions

1 reply
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Jan 31, 2025 12:53 PM in response to opus_53

Yes. This contact will still be able to track your teen’s location. Once you removed their contact, It will continue to share location and just show up as a phone number in the Find My app. If you want to stop sharing location with them, you’ll have to select them in Find My then select Stop Sharing Location.

This thread has been closed by the system or the community team. You may vote for any posts you find helpful, or search the Community for additional answers.

Can a deleted contact still track location if location sharing was not turned off before deleting?

Welcome to Apple Support Community
A forum where Apple customers help each other with their products. Get started with your Apple Account.