Hello,
I believe these two options are worse than useless and I am going to tell you why.
If you know your crappy autosave app will change your documents you will force yourself to always work on copies (or change software, as I did).
With these options you may have the ILLUSION to have control while it may not be the case.
In fact documents are autosaved and the popup actually asks if you want to revert to the original version.
This is a totally idiot implementation (another one by Apple on this topic) of version control. A safe implementation should NOT touch your file until you actually WANT your changes to be saved.
Imagine this scenario:
1. you use Preview to open the best photo you ever made because you want to prepare a Keynote presentation (let's say the photo is on a shared drive, not supporting versions)
2. you edit your photo (crop, resize or whatever)
3. you copy it and paste it in Keynote and you work on the presentation for some time
4 (hidden). autosave saves your modified photo without your consent, but you know it will ask you if you want to revert back...
5. while you work on Keynote, Preview crashes (it DOES crash occasionally)
6. hours after you complete your presentation, save it and prepare for live pres.
Your photo is gone forever.
You may argue Preview does not crash. Then imagine a thunderstorm cutting the electricity. Same risk.
My advice: AVOID autosave, versions and all the applications that force you to use them.