Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

microsoft word crashes on yosemite

Hi,

I'm a student, currently using microsoft office for my thesis.

I upgraded the software to OS X Yosemite and I was trying to continue to work on my thesis using microsoft word.

However, this program keeps crashing few minutes after opening the document.

Is anyone experiencing the same problem?

Mac Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10)

Posted on Oct 17, 2014 4:05 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 17, 2014 6:38 AM

what version of Word are you using? i read that 2004 doesn't work with Yosemite.

82 replies

Oct 19, 2014 7:26 AM in response to M9100009

I think I may have found a fix from one of the Yosemite beta testers who experienced the same problem (yes, both companies apparently knew about it before the launch!). It is simply a matter of taking the document out of full screen mode before closing it. I just did this with each open document, and did not get the error message. I will inform the group if it starts happening again.

You can find the beta discussion thread here: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/mac/forum/macoffice2011-macword/unable-to-clo se-ms-word-document/149dd908-b419-4418-949a-6f9657209edb?auth=1

Oct 19, 2014 10:05 AM in response to jmichaeli

Just downloaded Yosemite onto my I-mac. Am now having trouble with Microsoft Word (12.3.2). My files frequently/suddenly freeze - I can't type onto them, copy/paste from them, save them, etc. All that I have figured out to do is to quit Word and start all over. Any body with similar problems? Anybody with suggestions?

i have also noticed that many responses (to print, save, open files, etc.) are delayed from what they were pre-Yosemite.

Thanks for any and all help........JG

Oct 19, 2014 3:17 PM in response to M9100009