Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

10.10.2 Causes Mac Pro Shutdown When Ejecting External Hard Drives

I'm working with Apple support to fix the issue, but I figured I'd put up this post in case anyone else is experiencing this issue since updating their Mac Pro to 10.10.2. Last Friday, we updated two the three Mac Pros at our office and since then the computers shutdown (screen goes black and then the computer reboots) when we unplug or even sometimes just eject an external hard drive (we use Lacie D2s with a thunderbolt connection). I've been meticulously troubleshooting (I am a professional video editor so definitely have a decent amount of technical know how) and was on the phone with an Apple Senior Technical advisor for over an hour and couldn't find a solution. The one Mac Pro that hasn't been updated yet, has no such issue.

I have not received confirmation from Apple yet that 10.10.2 is to blame, but I can't see what else could be causing the problem. Right now I'm downloading Mavericks to check if returning to the old OS solves the issue. Please chime in in you are experiencing the same issue and hopefully Apple gets this figured out quickly.

Mac Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10.2), Premiere Pro CC & DaVinci Resolve

Posted on Feb 6, 2015 12:58 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 6, 2015 1:14 PM

There are many posts of the 2103 Mac shutting down on a kernel panic after updating to 10.10.2 when they powered off a Thunderbolt drive enclosure. Ejecting the disk first did not help. It was reported for both Lacie and OWC TB enclosures. Just yesterday or so someone posted that it did not happen with a Pegasus TB enclosure.

I have not seen it reported before that it Mac shutdown/panics when the disk is just ejected.

25 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 6, 2015 1:14 PM in response to OLMEditor