Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Best alternative for Pages?

In lieu of Pages, what is the best alternative out there?

I've read many bad reviews about Microsoft Word for mac.

I need a reliable writing tool.

Thanks in advance.

R.

MacBook Pro, macOS High Sierra (10.13.3), null

Posted on Mar 1, 2018 3:35 PM

23 replies

Mar 1, 2018 3:46 PM in response to FoxFifth

Good call on the extra info. Here it is:

I'm a writer.

I produce drafts ranging in volume from one page to several hundred pages.

I need the usual word processing functions, and I need to also be able to submit the drafts in a format that's compatible with my clients, most of whom are default Word users. I also have to be able to convert to PDF.

Thus far, I've been working from Pages, and converting the drafts to one of those two before sending. However, Pages has been corrupting my files as of late, and I need either a solution to the pages issue (I have a separate discussions thread on that), or I need an alternative.

Mar 3, 2018 1:39 PM in response to rachel422

rachel422 wrote:

I need the usual word processing functions… I also have to be able to convert to PDF.

What do you consider "the usual word processing functions"?

By definition that would be type on the keyboard and have editable letters appear on the screen.

All Mac software prints to PDF, it is part of the Print dialog.

Have a look at Nisus Writer Express and Pro.

Scrivener, Ulysses and Storyist are word processors with specific features for writers and worth checking out.

Peter

Mar 3, 2018 3:43 PM in response to PeterBreis0807

Ulysses has transitioned to a subscription model.