Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Encoding problems with Perl and iTunes on macOS

Hello everyone,

I am new to the communities, as I rarely have to ask for help. But I have a problem I don't know how to solve with Perl and iTunes on macOS.
My computer have macOS 10.9.5, iTunes 11.4 and Perl 5.16.2, but I had have the same problems with my previous computers.

As a record collector, I manage my collection with a php/mysql app I developed by myself.

When I buy a CD, a vinyl, a tape or files, I usually rip them then add them to iTunes, and add a few other files to the corresponding folders in the iTunes folder structure : a log file (with the information of the CD rip by XLD, or the lineage of the tape or vinyl rip, or where I bought the files), a md5 file, and for the downloaded mp3s, an jpg file of the cover.
My php/mysql app have informations about the existence of these files, so I am able to know if there is something missing for a record or another, like the cover, the kind of encoding of the file, etc.

To make the connection between the files in the iTunes folders and my app, I have a perl script that run every night, and that check the new files I added, so it is able to complete my list automatically. Everything works quite fine except that... I have problems with the different encodings used by macOS and iTunes, when there are accented characters.

An example should help to understand

I have a record by a band called "A Hawk And A Hacksaw" : "A Hawk And A Hacksaw And The Hun Hangár Ensemble". Tracks titles contain a few different accented characters.

As I read on internet, macOS seems to utf8 encoded, so in my perl script, I have these both instructions :

binmode(STDIN, ":utf8");

binmode(STDOUT, ":utf8");

It gives me with one the track of this album the above informations.

From macOS :