Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Inaccurate tracking of exercise activity and heart rate

I am a physician and have owned an Apple Watch since it was introduced in 2015. It has motivated me to exercise regularly and "close my rings". After the backplate of my 1st generation watch became loose, I replaced it with a Series 2 watch. Something I noted immediately was that my exercise was not being tracked accurately, especially with outdoor walks. The problem has persisted with upgrading to a Series 3 watch.

After talking with an Apple Store "Genius" I replaced my Milanese loop watch band with a Nylon strap with no benefit. I have had long conversations with senior Apple support representatives and sent them numerous Activity App screenshots, to be shared with their engineers. Suggestions (made by the engineers) to wear the watch higher up on the forearm, wear it on the other arm and ask a fellow hiker to wear the watch have not helped. Swinging my arm freely and not using hiking poles and using the "Other" option instead of "Outdoor Walk" have also not made a difference.

I am aware a certain heart rate has to be achieved before the watch recognizes an activity as exercise, and have been told (by the engineers) that having achieved that rate, the target rate has to increase with subsequent exercise sessions before the watch "credits" the effort as exercise. The latter statement is physiologically illogical. As one exercises regularly and becomes physically fit, the heart rate during exercise of the same intensity becomes lower.

Two other problems I have noticed are: