Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Sudden Latency in Logic X after High Sierra Update?

I am having significant latency related issues with Logic X a week or so after latest OS updates. Currently running High Sierra 10.13.3. I have been using Logic for over 12 years and Logic X for about 5 (ever since they released it). Aside from the occasional pain of "system overload" during playback, I have NEVER had latency issues that were not fixable through tweaking preferences - i.e. buffer size, LLM, removing plug-ins in channel or master tracks, etc. I have recorded with 1024 (or whatever the highest buffer rate is) for years with absolutely no similar issues. Like I said, if there were latency issues I know how to fix them.

About a week after upgrading, what I'm experiencing severe latency issues, primarily through software instruments. Piano Roll, using a control surface, I can literally see the marks are about 1/4 note off the measures. I talked with Apple for hours and the best they could do was go into Preferences (Not in Logic, in library) and remove the logic.plists. When they did that the latency stopped but now everything is hitting about 1/4 note too soon. This is happening during tracking and playback. I have tried going to 128 buffer size and everything in between to no avail. All updated drivers installed in interface. I have troubleshot every possible scenario that would usually be suggested on forums and nothing has changed whatsoever. Ultrabeat seems to work pretty close (but not perfect) but when I change to other drum kits it throws everything off. I can quantize the notes but then the audio files are out of time. It's a whole thing.

Anyone else experienced this?

Is it time for a new machine?

Seemed to be working fine a month ago.

I'm running:

MacBook Pro mid 2010

17 inch.

2.66 GHz Intel Core i7.

8Gig Ram.

NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 512 MB

Intel HD Graphics 288 MB