Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to convert .QBX file to MAC

I have a DVD (From a Local Police Department that has a .qbx video file. Obviously, I've tried opening it on my MacBook Pro after I used a PC to move the entire file to a Thumb Drive (since newer Mac's don't have CD/DVD Roms drives. I've looked online and on Apple's forum and there's nothing about converting the file to .mov or QuickTime player. Im not a techie so Im lost. I'm also partially deaf and partially blind so I need to watch the .qbx video file on a special device at home. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you.

MacBook Air 13", macOS 10.14

Posted on Apr 8, 2019 3:59 PM

3 replies

May 21, 2019 7:26 AM in response to Urquhart1244

I'm dealing with the same issue, yes the .qbx file is the video portion. I was able to pop the disc into a windows machine and double-click the autorun.exe file contained on the disc and it basically launches some type of video software thats included/embedded on the disc. Still haven't found the correct process for Mac viewing though. And you're correct, Police departments shouldn't use obscure and proprietary software when releasing video to a civilian especially one that is requested through a FOIA request, but they do and they also include about 20 other ambiguously named files the same disc so you're not even sure how to go about finding and viewing the video. The video file will appear and have a name similar to this, this is 375MB

Apr 8, 2019 5:12 PM in response to Disco-Stu

Are you certain the .qbx file is a video file? Because all I could find is Intuit QuickBooks Accountant Transfer File to use that suffix.

What is the file size? Video files normally appear to be quite large, so small files wouldn’t be video files.

If the local police department share video files with outsiders, then those video files shouldn’t be in obscure or proprietary formats.