Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Portable Charging Laptops with MagSafe 2?

Hi!

I have an early 2015 MacBook air with an incredibly high cycle count (824, yikes) which means I often need it to be connected to a power plug - especially considering the fact that most applications I use drain my battery (I'm an art student) and I refuse to let go of using chrome.

This is all fine until I am out and don't have access to a power point (eg. long commutes, studios etc.) There aren't any portable chargers that support a MagSafe 2 connector however there are a lot of MagSafe 2 to USB-C adaptors on the market and I was wondering if it would be possible to purchase one of those and use it to connect my laptop to a large capacity portable charger? Has anyone tried this? Or is this a very, very bad idea?

Thanks!

MacBook Air

Posted on Sep 6, 2019 7:46 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 8, 2019 11:14 AM

Sorry I misunderstood. The charger pack you linked is only 30W and I believe the MBAir uses at least a 45W charger so I don't know if it will work. I personally would not use a third party charger on a Mac since the quality of many third party chargers is questionable as they don't always include proper power safety protections. The USB-C chargers have a different charging standard and protocol so I'm not sure how well converting it to Magsafe will work. For a little more money than the linked power pack you could have an official Apple battery installed without the need for more external items and without risking an expensive laptop. I don't have any experience with the third party power packs.

Instead of a third party power pack you would be better off replacing the battery yourself, although the quality of third party batteries is not that great even from a reputable vendor such as OWC.

https://eshop.macsales.com/shop/laptop-batteries/macbook-air