Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I sign in to the Acorn TV channel in Apple TV with my existing Acorn subscription?

I have an Acorn TV subscription that I bought from their website... How do I sign into my account inside Apple TV - the channel shows up but it only gives me the option to subscribe/start a free trial...

I’m using the same email for both Acorn and Apple, and my other subscriptions that I bought outside of Apple/iTunes have automatically recognized my account/signed me in (ex. Amazon Prime, Crave, etc), but the Acorn TV channel doesn’t seem to recognize my account...

Posted on Oct 5, 2019 11:13 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 7, 2019 10:10 AM

When they give specific meaning to generic words, it can cause confusion. Apple has sort-of claimed the word ‘channel’ for their subscriptions inside the Apple TV app. Subscribe to Apple TV channels in the Apple TV app - Apple Support. At this time, these channels have the circular icon in the Apple TV app. Apple gets their own copies of the content for this service, so you are not steaming from Acorn’s servers. The Apple TV app is needed to view this subscription content (not their own app, nor their website).

This is different from viewing the same content in Acorn’s own app, even if linked/redirected through the Apple TV app (i.e. from Watch Now or Up Next). Availability of supported apps in the Apple TV app - Apple Support

For viewing using Acorn’s own app or other devices, you can subscribe through iTunes (Acorn TV in-app purchase) or through Acorn (their site). Neither option gives access the the “Apple TV channel” Acorn TV service in the Apple TV app.

So there are 3 ways to subscribe to essentially the same content.

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 7, 2019 10:10 AM in response to daisy_emm