Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Move Select Photos from iCloud to Mac Hard Drive?

I'm new to MacOS and I'm assisting my girlfriend. She has been using iCloud for years to sync photos from her iPhone and iPad. She has a LOT of photos (~13,000). The vast majority of the shots she doesn't need to keep in iCloud but doesn't want to delete them forever. What we'd like to do is move them to her MacBook hard drive. I'd like to end up with ~1000 photos that are in the iCloud library and the rest not part of iCloud but on her hard drive.

Is there an easy way to move photos to the local hard disk? I see that I can drag a photo to hard disk and it creates a copy there but it doesn't delete the original in Photo Library/iCloud. I'd like a move capability instead of copy. Any options or better way of doing this?

MacBook

Posted on Jan 17, 2021 3:45 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 18, 2021 2:53 PM

Hi,

The first thing to do is to open the library in Photos.app, open preferences by pressing CMD , [COMMA} or opening preferences from the menu bar Photos>preferences. Check that the box 'Download originals' is selected in the iCloud tab. If optimise setting was previously selected then you'll need to wait until the original files are downloaded.

You should also see that the 'Use as system library is greyed out' button.

Close the photos app. Go to Finder and locate the photos library, then simply create a copy by highlighting the file, press CMD-C, go to where you wish to store the second library, which could be the same folder and then press CMD-V. A copy of the library will then be created. if necessary rename the libraries to make sure it is clear which library is which - you could call them primary and secondary.