Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple TV 4K Keeps Cutting Out - How Do I Fix This?

Just bought Apple TV 4K. My TV is a Sony Bravia 4K from 2015. They are connected via a 4K HDMI cable.

Very happy with the Apple Box, but for some reason it keeps cutting out. This happens randomly. The screen will go black for about a second, then carry on as normal. Sometimes it won't happen for a while. Sometimes it will happen every five minutes.

This happens on a couple of apps, like the iPlayer app and the Now TV app.

I've re-started the Apple Box and made sure it is up to date. I've re-started the router.

Any ideas? Please keep in mind that I am not technically minded!

Apple TV 4K, tvOS 14

Posted on May 7, 2021 3:00 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 12, 2021 5:39 PM

Spent over an hour on the phone with Apple the other day and they ended up escalating it because none of the troubleshooting did anything…

Their suggestions were:

• connect directly to the modem with Ethernet one tv/tv box and see if the issue goes away - may point to network issue
  • sign out of all tv boxes, App Store, iTunes, etc, then sign into just one and see if the issue goes away
  • sign out and go back to factory settings on all tv boxes, sign back in and see if the issues go away
  • power off all electronics in the house, turn on one tv, see if the issue goes away - may point to interference issues

None of their suggestions addressed why it was happening just to shows on Apple TV channel but not youtube, Netflix, other third party apps…