You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Timeline editing and then what

This is a pretty basic question but I am new to iMovie recently and can't figure it out. So I edit something in the timeline. But then what happens to it? I don't see it show up on the screen. I can save to disk but don't see how to get back into iMovie. So I edit but then how do I save and get access to it?

Michael

Posted on Aug 30, 2021 11:24 AM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Aug 30, 2021 7:35 PM

As you move your cursor down the timeline every clip that it passes over will appear in the preview screen as you have edited it.

Your work will be automatically saved to the project as you edit, and when you exit the project (click on the Projects tab in the upper left of your screen) it will be saved in the Projects Browser with all of your edits intact.

To open a new project, go to the Projects Browser view (click on the Projects tab) where all of your projects are displayed as icons. At the top left of the Projects Browser screen you will see a large gray icon with a + sign in it. Click on that and then click on the Movie icon in the box that appears. That will open a new project.

Here's a link to a good online help tutorial that has a good search feature. It will explain in a step by step fashion how to use the various features of iMovie.

https://help.apple.com/imovie/mac/10.1/

-- Rich

7 replies
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Aug 30, 2021 7:35 PM in response to Michael Peterson1

As you move your cursor down the timeline every clip that it passes over will appear in the preview screen as you have edited it.